Today @ Down Range Gear

shapeimage_11

Down Range Gear PALS Insert Panel

Down Range Gear PALS Insert Panel

Down Range Gear Fitted Pistol Magazine Pouch

Down Range Gear Fitted Pistol Magazine Pouch

Focus of effort today was filling an order for another PALS Inset Panel. This one comes in close to 11″ x 10″ and was requested in coyote brown. It was a real pleasure to put together; everything came together very nicely for this piece and it’s well finished, if I do say so myself. One departure from the standard design was to substitute the kydex sheet for HDPE as the internal support. This worked wonders for the assembly process and will be the default for all future builds.

I was able to squeeze in a side project towards the end of the day: assembly of eight of the new Fitted Pistol Magazine Pouches for my 1911 mags. The more I play with these new mag pouches, the more I like them. These things are models of simplicity; no straps, flaps, buckles, velcro or shock cord, just a very cleanly built pouch form-fitted to the magazine. You can’t tell from the pictures but the 1000D cordura nylon is doubled and laminated, meaning it’s rigid and holds it’s shape, which gives it a whole different feel from regular nylon pouches.  I built these for myself and the fabric is charcoal grey, which is my default when I want something subdued and neutral rather than a military color or pattern.

Leave a Reply

